1F25 Post 1: Media Impact

The media increasingly defines the world that we live in today. The media shapes our views and frames our minds to believe what we read and hear about “factual” information and entertainment. There are many things we see on the news that sensationalizes the story to sell papers and capture the viewer’s attention. This contributes to the creation of potentially biased opinions. The news companies could be withholding or not releasing a lot of vital information that would be needed for me to make a truly informed decision or opinion.

The sensationalism also creates an emotional response that tends to make readers and viewers pick a “side” on a particular issue without potentially having all the facts. I personally read an article and will sympathize with the victim and assume the person who is being investigated is automatically guilty even before he or she has gone to trial! It should be “innocent until proven guilty” and it seems we have it backwards. 
Mass media plays a significant role on my worldview. I am of the generation that depends on computers for information, research and socialization. The media also uses the Internet to distribute the latest news and “gossip” therefore capturing the attention of as many people as possible. I am an avid computer user and this keeps me connected to the world’s news, events, sporting information as well as a social connection to my circle of friends. I also watch a fair amount of TV and music videos which incorporate commercials and advertisements and I look through magazines, all of which have a significant impact on not only my worldview of who is beautiful and successful, but how I view myself. There are many examples of women who are photo-shopped to look perfect. The magazines target younger teens/woman and men to buy the product they are promoting, and giving them the state of mind that the model has the ideal perfect body image and they should strive to look that way. This often causes younger women/men to diet or develop eating disorders and even resort to plastic surgery/use of steroids. These images often cause teens to become extremely self-conscious and lower their self-esteem because they do not have the “media-created perfect” body. I find myself even idolizing and wanting to resemble these beautiful women and pick myself apart, focusing on the features I would like to change. Media often portrays” the successful and popular people as the “beautiful” ones… and the classic nerds as being physically unattractive and awkward. Wealth tends to equate to “good looks” and intelligence.

Don’t get me wrong I am not of the opinion that mass media is all bad. Mass media is also the platform people use to raise awareness about a great cause or a belief and has many positive effects to promote change, health and awareness. Is it a vehicle that can have the greatest impact on raising money for the less fortunate or locating a missing person or broadcasting a wonderful human story… It is society’s responsibility to set boundaries and educate people about both the negative and positive aspects of mass media.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment